حكاية انجاز

مركز اتصال رائد في طرابلس يتطرّق إلى مشكلة المخدّرات وسط سعي لتحقيق العدالة الاجتماعيّة

نتيجة ملاحظات تجمّع أم النور خلال حفل الاستقبال الذي نظّمه في مركزه في ذوق مكايل، اتّضح وجود نقص فادح في خدمات الرعاية المرتبطة بمشكلات المخدرات في منطقة الشمال، ولاسيّما في طرابلس. وبفضل تمويل الاتحاد الأوروبي، تم إطلاق خدمة جديدة في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017في مركز جديد تابع للتجمع في طرابلس، تمثلت بخط ساخن وجلسات استشارية هدفها إسداءالنصائح وتقديم العلاج لمتعاطي المخدرات، ليتم التطرّق بهذه الطريقة إلى مشكلة ظاهرة في أرجاء لبنان. وتشكّل مبادرة مركز الاتصال جزءاً من مشروع "وعي" الأوسع نطاقاً الذي يموّله الاتحاد الأوروبي، والذي يهدف إلى المساهمة في تطوير استراتيجية وقاية وطنية شاملة من إدمان المخدرات، عن طريق تأمين مراكز اجتماعية حكومية وغير حكومية، ومنظمات مجتمع مدني، ومنظمات غير حكومية، ومراكز خدمة اجتماعية ذات آليات فاعلة للوقاية من المخدرات، على أن يبدأ العمل من المجتمعات المحلية في طرابلس.

يعمل تجمّع أم النور على تنفيذ مشروع "وعي" بالتعاون مع مؤسسة الصفدي، وبتنسيق وثيق مع الوزارات المعنية والأطراف الفاعلة الرئيسية في طرابلس. ورغم نقص البيانات عن استهلاك المخدرات في طرابلس وجوارها، وكونها مشكلة تؤثر في جميع طبقات المجتمع، يسود الظن بأن ثلاثة أرباع مستهلكي المخدرات يأتون من أكثر المناطق فقراً، بحسب أم النور. وحتى تاريخه، تتراوح أعمار الأشخاص اللاجئينإلى مركز الاتصال بين 16 و74 عاماً.

كان مركز الاتصال يتلقى في البداية ما معدله 20 إلى 30 اتصالاً في الشهر. لكنّ هذا العدد تزايد تدريجياً، ليتراوح عدد الاتصالات ما بين 20 و30 أسبوعياً. ويُعمل على ترويج المركز، من خلال عدد من القنوات التي تشمل مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، وتوزيع النشرات، وعبرالمنظمات غير الحكومية، والكلام المتناقل، والاجتماعات مع البلديات، فضلاً عن حملة في اليوم العالمي لمكافحة المخدرات في 26 حزيران (يونيو). وكانت جلسات المعرفة التي نظّمها مشروع "وعي" بالغة الأهمّية لزيادة عدد الاتصالات، وقد طاولت الأطفال والشباب والأهالي في طرابلس وجوارها، وكان هدفها التوعية على أسباب تعاطي المخدرات وتداعياته. وحصل الأهالي بصورة خاصة على معلومات مفيدة للتنبّه لأدلة قد تشير إلى أن أولادهم اعتادوا تعاطي المخدرات.

والملفت أنّه من أصل 20 إلى 30 مكالمة يتلقّاها مركز الاتصال أسبوعيّاً، تؤدي 10 اتصالات بالمعدّل إلى جلسة مع مستشار. كما يمكن إجراء الاتصالات والجلسات على أساس عدمالكشف عن الهوية، مع الإشارة إلى أنّ الجلسات مجّانيّة. ويتم تنظيم عدد منها، وتدوم في العادة ساعةً من الوقت، مع الأهالي الذي تراودهم الشكوك حول كون ولدهم يتعاطى المخدرات. وتقام جلسات التوعية بمعظمها مع متعاطي المخدرات أنفسهم، وتستكشف عادةً خلفية الشخص الطالب للنصائح أو المساعدة، إلى جانب تزويده بالمعلومات عن حقوقه القانونية. إلى ذلك، ترصد الجلسات المذكورة مستويات الحماسة إزاء العلاج،بمساعدة برنامج إعادة تأهيل وتقييم لما إذا كان من الضروري إحالة المتعاطي إلى تجمّع أم النور أو إلى طبيب نفسي. ويمكن تلقي علاج سلوكي أو "علاج مختصر يركّز على الحل" من المستشارة الميدانية لمشروع "وعي" دياناالعلم التي تدرّبت على هذا المجال في أستراليا.

وترى العلم أن الخط الساخن والخدمات الاستشارية التي يوفرها مركز الاتصال تمثّل بداية جديدة لطرابلس، إذ تفسح المجال أمام إطلاق الحوارات عن مشكلة المخدرات في المدينة. وقالت إننا "نتلقى حالات كان يجدر بنا السماع بها منذ 10 إلى 15 عاماً"، مشيرة إلى "وجود أشخاص كان بإمكاننا معالجتهم من البداية".

وقال مدير مشروع "وعي" بشيرعواد: "نُدخل مفهوماً جديداً إلى فسحة لا تزال غير مستكشَفة،وقد بدأ الناس يعرفوننا". وبالنظر إلى أنّ هذا المشروع تجريبي، يرى تجمّع أم النور أنّ تحقيق نتائج ملموسة سيتطلّب سنوات ويوجب استحداث مركز لائق للعلاج من الإدمان في طرابلس. بيد أنّ الخدمات الجديدة التي يقدّمها مركز الاتصال تُعتبَر بداية جيّدة، كما أنّ الوجود الفعليّ للمركز يحظى بتنويه كبير.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن "وعي"هو واحد من ثمانية مشاريع ضمن برنامج العدالة الاجتماعية المموَّل من الاتحاد الأوروبي الذي يهدف إلى الدفاع عن الديمقراطيّة وحقوق الإنسان والعدالة الاجتماعيّة في لبنان، ويروّج بشكل أساسيّ للحكم الرشيد والمساواة بين الجنسين. وبشكل عام، يدعم برنامج العدالة الاجتماعيّة تعزيز الإطار المؤسسي لحماية حقوق الإنسان وتطوير الحكم الديمقراطي في لبنان. ويسهم مشروع "وعي" في تحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية، من خلال توفيره الرعاية والمساعدة للأشخاص الأكثر حاجةً إليهما، وإيجاده مخرجاً من أوضاع غالباً ما تؤدي إلى السجن أو حتّى إلى الموت.

Success Stories

Pioneering call centre in Tripoli targets Lebanon’s drug problem in bid for social justice

As a result of Oum El Nour's observations at their reception centre in Zouk Mikhael, it has become evident that there exists a detrimental lack of care services for drug-related problems in the region of the North, and specifically in Tripoli. Thanks to European Union (EU) funding, in January 2017 a new service was launched in an Oum El Nour newly established centre in Tripoli which consisted in the set upof a hotline and counselling sessions in order to provide advice and treatment for drug users, tackling a problem that is present across Lebanon. The call centre initiative forms part of the wider EU-funded WAII project, which aims to contribute to the development of a comprehensive national prevention strategy against substance abuse through providing governmental and non-governmental community centres, civil society organisations (CSOs), non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and social service centres with effective mechanisms for drug prevention, beginning with Tripoli’s local communities.

WAII is implemented by Oum El Nour, in partnership with the Safadi Foundation, and in close coordination with relevant ministries and key actors in Tripoli. Despite the lack of data on drug use in Tripoli and its neighbourhoods, and despite the fact that this problem affects all strata of society, it is thought that three quarters of drug users are drawn from the most impoverished areas, according to Oum el Nour. To date, call centre users represent ages ranging from 16 to 74 years.

Initially, the call centre used to receive an average of 20 to 30 calls a month. However, this has gradually increased to reach 20 to 30 calls a week. Awareness about the centre is raised through a variety of channels, including social media, brochure distribution, NGOs, word of mouth, meetings with municipalities and a campaign run on International Drug Day on June 26. Awareness sessions hosted by WAII have also been pivotal in driving the number of calls. They target kids, youth and parents in Tripoli and its neighbourhoods, raising awareness on the causes and consequences of drug usage. Parents, in particular, are provided with useful information to be aware of signs that may indicate their children are habitual drug users.

Out of the 20 to 30 calls received per week by the call centre, 10 on average lead to a session with a counsellor. Both the calls and sessions can be conducted on an anonymous basis and are provided free of charge. A number of these sessions, which usually last up to an hour, take place with parents who have suspicions that their child may be using drugs. Most of the awareness sessions are with drug users themselves, and typically explore the background of the person seeking advice or help, as well as providing information on legal rights. The sessions also identify the level of motivation for treatment through a rehab programme, and an assessment of whether to refer the user to Oum el Nour or to a psychiatrist. Behavioural therapy or “solution focused brief therapy” can also be offered by Diana Al Alam, field counsellor for the WAII project, who trained in this domain in Australia.

According to Al Alam, the hotline and counselling services provided by the call centre represent a new start for Tripoli, allowing conversations to be initiated about the drug problem there. “We are receiving cases that we should have received 10 or 15 years ago,” said Al Alam. “There are some people we are able to treat from the start.”

“We are introducing something new in a virgin area and have started to be known,” said Bechir Aouad, WAII project manager. As a pilot project, Oum el Nour believes it will take years to see the results and for a proper drug treatment centre to be established in Tripoli, however, the new services provided by the call centre are seen as a good start and the centre is lauded for its physical presence.

This project is one of eight that fall under the EU-funded Social Justice Programme (SJP). The SJP programme’s objective is to advocate for democracy, human rights and social justice in Lebanon, promoting good governance and gender equality at its core. Overall, the SJP programme supports the strengthening of the institutional framework for the protection of human rights and the development of democratic governance in Lebanon. The WAII project contributes to social justice through its provision of care and help to people who are in dire need of it, and a way out of a situation that too often ends in jail or death.