نبذة عن الاتحاد الأوروبي في لبنان

يتألف الاتحاد الأوروبي من 28 دولة عضو قرّرت أن تعمل تدريجياً على تقاسم درايتها، ومواردها، ومصيرها. وتعمل هذه الدول معاً منذ 50 عاماً، وقد طوّرت منطقة من الاستقرار والديمقراطية والتنمية المستدامة، مع الحرص على الاحتفاظ بالتنوّع الثقافي، والتسامح، والحريات الفرديّة. والتزم الاتحاد الأوروبي تشارُك إنجازاته وقيمه مع دول وشعوب واقعة خارج نطاق حدوده. كما يُعتبَر الاتحاد الأوروبي مشاركاً رئيسيّاً على صعيدي التعاون الدولي والمساعدة الإنمائيّة وأكبر جهة مانحة للمساعدات الإنسانيّة في العالم.

أُسست بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي في لبنان في عام 1979. وفي الوقت الراهن، ينفذ الاتحاد الأوروبي، الذي يشمل الدول الأعضاء والبنك الأوروبي للاستثمار، مساعدات بميزانية تزيد قيمتها الإجمالية عن 2.2 مليار يورو، بما يشمل تقريباً منحاً بقيمة 1.3 مليار يورو، وقروضاً بنحو 0.9 مليار يورو.

ويتمحور التعاون الأوروبي بشكل أساسي على الترويج لبرامج دعم الإصلاحات السياسيّة، والاقتصاديّة، والاجتماعيّة، والحكم المحلّي، وإزالة الألغام واللاجئين. وتلقى جهود إصلاح القطاعات الرئيسية، على غرار الأمن، والعدالة، والحكم الرشيد، والحماية الاجتماعية، وتوفير الدعم للمجتمع المدني، والتربية، والطاقة، والبيئة، والزراعة، والحقوق الأساسية تشجيعاً خاصاً، كونها تهدف جميعاً إلى دعم النمو المستدام والحد من التباينات المحلّية في لبنان.

About the European Union in Lebanon

The European Union is made up of 28 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders. The European Union is a major player in international cooperation and development aid. It is also the world’s largest humanitarian aid donor.

The EU Delegation in Lebanon was established in 1979. The EU, the Member States and the European Investment Bank currently execute a total budget of more than €2.2 billion of assistance to Lebanon, including approximately €1.3 billion of grants and €0.9 billion of loans.

The EU cooperation focuses mainly on promoting programmes which support political, economic and social reforms, local governance, demining and refugees. Efforts to reform key sectors such as security, justice, good governance, social protection, support to civil society, education, energy, environment, agriculture and fundamental rights are particularly encouraged since they all aim at supporting sustainable growth and at reducing regional disparities in Lebanon.